The Seafood Sustainability Awards 2023 

Next year, Fisheries New Zealand will be holding the second Seafood Sustainability Awards, honouring those who make outstanding contributions to sustainability and innovation across Aotearoa New Zealand’s seafood sector.

Many New Zealanders go fishing to feed whanau and friends, and to support their families and communities, says Thea Wallace, Director Strategy and Governance, Fisheries New Zealand.

These awards recognise that a range of people are doing innovative things, through science, leadership, community engagement, and kaitiakitanga, to support the sustainability of our seafood sector.

It’s our chance to recognise the individuals, community groups, and businesses who are demonstrating exceptional commitment to ensuring that our oceans are productive and healthy, both now and for future generations.”

Launched in 2020, the awards continue to celebrate past finalists and award winners.

Among the 2020 winners were:

Rosemary Hurst, former NIWA Chief Scientist and considered one of New Zealand’s leading fisheries experts

Richard Wells, a fisheries consultant with Resourcewise, who developed the Deepwater Protected Species Bycatch Liaison Programme New Zealand King Salmon, which was credited for its waste minimisation and developing an environmental certification programme.

Among the finalists were student Maegen Blom, who helped rebrand her family mussel business, Hawkes Bay-based Better Fishing, which supplies quality fresh fish, and Scott and Sue Tindale, whose marine research charitable trust has set up an inshore fish tagging program promoting ethical angling and conservation.

These past winners and finalists showcase the highquality work being done in a wide variety of areas. We look forward to seeing who will be recognised this year.

There will be six award categories, with finalists and winners chosen by a panel of independent judges representing different parts of the seafood sector. An additional award will also be awarded for long-standing contribution to sustainability.

Nominations will open in February 2023, and more updates will be made available online at https://

Share this post :


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Create a new perspective on life

Your Ads Here (365 x 270 area)
Latest Stories

Subscribe our newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest updates direct to your inbox.


Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest updates direct to your inbox.